October 21, 2007

Today the wind blew like a Phoenix across the county. Hot, dry and powerful the Santa Ana’s come every October. In 4 days it will be the anniversary of the Cedar Fire and the Paradise fire which we watched, nearly stranded between the two, burn down the hills towards our home. The smoke and ash was overwhelming. The fear undeniable. I packed our then owned Suburban with kids and pictures and started driving north. I had two friends who refused to leave watching the big dogs and our other stuff. About 90 miles away I heard on the radio that the fire had jumped the freeway. South of our home but still, now on my side. I turned around and drove back and packed up the animals and everything I could think was irreplaceable. We have video we took that to this day, scares the crap outta me. Now I live there. In the Valley Center ring of fear fire.

Tonight, we are north compared to the fires. In the country. The Santa Ana’s, they blow directly east to west. They are fueling two infernos. My dearest Nannygoat and grandbabies are in the path of the smoke and ash, but the fire is many, many miles away. As the crow flies I am only 14 miles north. But the Santa Ana’s always blow east to west, that is their nature. I made sure Lloyd had his inhaler for his asthma, because he works tonight in the line of smoke.

I would load the video here from that other fire, but I can’t get to it. (Damn moving and DSL *boo hoo* I miss my cable connection and everyone living in the same house)

There is this working windmill on the property. Which, until the Santa Ana’s came I had no idea had a tail with writing on it. It’s from Wisconsin. Which is probably where we will end up living when California either burns to the ground or falls into the ocean during an earthquake.

img_2945.jpg

2 thoughts on “October 21, 2007

  1. I took Ladybug out onto our balcony to show her just how windy it is. She curled under my arm like she was scared but then said “Weeeeeee!” Like she was on a roller coaster. I said, “isn’t it windy? We better go back inside!” She replied with “Yah Momma! Bye bye windy!”

  2. “Tonight, we are north compared to the fires. In the country. The Santa Ana’s, they blow directly east to west. They are fueling two infernos. My dearest Nannygoat and grandbabies are in the path of the smoke and ash, but the fire is many, many miles away. As the crow flies I am only 14 miles north. But the Santa Ana’s always blow east to west, that is their nature. I made sure Lloyd had his inhaler for his asthma, because he works tonight in the line of smoke.”

    Too bad inhalers weren’t all we were going to have to worry about…

Leave a Reply

