September 26, 2007

img_0282.JPG

Peeling layers of life. Not knowing when the new, raw layer may be laid bare. Exposed to the trauma of nature’s forces. Exposed and vulnerable. Fresh and unvarnished. Yet to learn the touch of life. Yet to feel the burn of the sun, the cool of the first rain, and the bite of frost.

It seems strange and impossible to feel new and fresh and raw with all the years and experiences I have under my belt. Challenged again and again. Struggling and overcoming. Looking forward to the sting of a deep freeze.

5 thoughts on “September 26, 2007

  1. “new and fresh and raw” can happen at any time in your life. I’ve been feeling that way myself since I started paying more attention to my spirit than my body. I think that happens with as you get older. At least to some people. It’s a scary feeling and a wonderful feeling all at the same time. It’s strangely liberating. I love this photo. It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

