September 21, 2007

Since I have had such a hard time controlling my diabetes this year for the first time in the 10 years I have had it, I just went with the flow. However, I noticed quite markedly I thought, a lack of vision. I still do all the things I always did, but I really couldn’t see. Everything was blurry. I hesitated to go get checked although I have always been on the ball about that and have worn glasses for reading and sometimes for distance for years now. But that stupid commercial with the albino looking guy who turns out to be blind from not caring for his diabetes scared the crap out of me. Not that I would tell anyone. But it did. I wasn’t ignoring my lack of blood sugar control. Far from it, I have been to the MD more times in the last six months to address it than in all the years I have had diabetes. But I avoided the annual eye check. I was due in January and I went two weeks ago. Turns out it is the same as always, but the glasses I use at work were so worn and scratched, no one could have seen through them. Money is tough but I decided a few days ago, that I have to see to work. And I have to work to eat. So….new glasses for reading (which also means computer time, crochet time, just about any time except driving and watching tv because everything I do seems to involve close ups):

One thought on “September 21, 2007

Leave a Reply

